The Breakers-Palm Beach

The Breakers-Palm Beach


My 2013 ABCs of Gratitude reveal many blessings. The last half of the year has given me idle time as I semi-retired in June. Unstructured days led to more freedom to travel, to be with family and fur friends and to be in nature.

This simple yet thought-provoking exercise is a unique way to reflect on the year. Grab a sheet of paper and label it A through Z. Fill in with your blessings. If you get stuck on a letter, a dictionary is permitted! Making my list is a Thanksgiving month tradition. I find it interesting to compare my lists from year to year. I’ve also discovered that you can’t be in gratitude and be unhappy! I credit Ingrid King for suggesting this activity four years ago. According to Ingrid, “Gratitude is a wonderful way to raise your vibration and shift your energy. The vibration of gratitude is a powerful force. It can shift your mood and your thoughts from a place of scarcity to a place of abundance”.

DSC_0237

A for Aunt Betty & Aunt Joan…precious visits
B for Barn Tour…Iowa at its best
C for Cabin Vacation…awesome fall in NC
D for Dr. Dunn…great care
E for Essay…selected for a cat anthology
F for Furbabies…Lexie Lee, Chauncey, Grace
G for Grand Marshal…graduation ceremony
H for Haiku…writing 80 poems at farm
I for Idle Time…to wile away
J for Joe…my rock and my love
K for Kerry…pet sitter extraordinaire
L for Lane Spa…perfect respite
M for Muses…farm kitties to photograph
N for Northwood University…employer for 25 years
O for Online Teaching…perfect part-time job
P for Poem… selected for anthology
Q for Quiet Getaway…no place like The Breakers

Princess Grace

Princess Grace


R for Retirement Party…as academic dean
S for Sister Donna…winter time visit
T for Turquoise Nail Polish…fun, fun, fun
U for Update…farm house looking great
V for Vacation…6 weeks at farm
W for Wall Oven…out with 1958 oven
X for X-Ray…healed stress fracture
Y for Yard Sale…$2 vintage German teapot
Z for Zebra…a knockout handbag

So there you have it. Now what are you thankful for?

Happy Thanksgiving!

