Dara Viane and Linda Mohr

The Boca Raton Branch, National League of American Pen Women were represented on an author book panel on Saturday, March 24 at the Delray Beach Public Library. I was in great company with other Pen Women including Dara Viane, author of No Greater Love; Bunny Shulman, author of Step by Step; and Barbara Bixon, author of If You Really Loved Me, You’d Take Out the Garbage.

I enjoyed keeping the spirit of Tatianna alive and meeting other book lovers. We had an interested audience with lots of questions. Many thanks to the library staff for including us in their Meet the Authors Series 2012.

A few excerpts from my introduction:
When I was sixteen, I wrote an essay and won a trip to Washington D.C. Shortly, after that I announced to my mother I would write a book someday.

I started my career as a college professor and developed an outline for a clothing and textiles book and even corresponded with a publisher. But I moved to Florida and started a one stop pet care business and the outline went into a box.

Next I wrote a column for a local newspaper with the hopes of getting the Bobbin’ Along sewing column syndicated. But women were going into the workplace by the thousands and sewing became obsolete. Two years of columns went into a box.

Then I taught cooking classes during the introduction of microwave ovens. I assembled my favorite recipes in hopes of publishing them. Eventually they went into my manuscript box.

However, I still believed I was destined to write and publish a book.

I did not set out to write a cat book. Here is how it happened……………….

Warm Purrs!

