Evening Sunset

Last year I wrote my ABCs of Gratitude and am pleased to report, I’ve made it an annual ritual. I credit Ingrid King for suggesting this activity. According to Ingrid, “Gratitude is a wonderful way to raise your vibration and shift your energy. The vibration of gratitude is a powerful force. It can shift your mood and your thoughts from a place of scarcity to a place of abundance”.

One of my students shared her list last year and I look forward to connecting with her this year. It’s a simple exercise that can engage children or students. What a unique way to spend time on Thanksgiving. Grab a sheet of paper and label it A through Z. Fill in with your blessings for the past year. I found it fun and eye-opening! Here’s my 2011 list.

A for Academic Dean Interim Appointment…unexpected
B for Bootsie Photo…second in Purrfect Days Calendar contest
C for Country Walks…food for my soul
D for Desserts…need I say more
E for Essay…published in Thin Threads–Women & Friendship book
F for Family Time…cherished sister, two brothers and sister-in-law
G for God’s Grace…at work in my life
H for Home…my South Florida personal paradise
I for Interviews…with Mary Jones radio and Liz Eastwood blog
J for Joe…romantic stay at Chalet Suzanne on Valentine’s weekend
K for Kitties in Missouri…beloved Rose, Rosebud, Tigger, Angus & Bootsie
L for Lake Helen Book Festival…meeting my readers
M for Mother’s Spirit…watching over me
N for Nature…seeing beauty in Iowa ice storm and fall foliage
O for Online Teaching…learning from diverse students worldwide
P for Photography Course…New York Institute of Photography
Q for Quiet Moments…with Lexie Lee, Chauncey and Gracie
R for Red Library Cat Room…a dream room come true
S for Sacha…who guides, inspires and centers me
T for Tatianna chapter…featured in cat anthology, The Amazing Life of Cats
U for Understanding…there’s more to life than what I see
V for Visits…to family farm for six weeks
W for Writers Workshop…teaching at N. Palm Beach Library
X for Xmas…in Midwest with siblings
Y for Yoga…love how it makes me feel
Z for Zebra Shoes…and all my shoes!!

So there you have it. Now what are you thankful for?

Happy Thanksgiving!

