Cats and window screens present a potential summer hazard. We welcome opening up the house and letting refreshing breezes in. But as we do so, it is important to check the condition of each screen. I learned why after a house renovation. My cat Lexie Lee was in the dining room on a window sill that runs around ten windows. I was in the kitchen and suddenly a loud noise followed by meows interrupted a quiet evening. I ran into the dining room, and Lexie Lee had fallen onto the floor with a window screen on top of her. Nothing like this had ever happened before! I quickly closed the wide open window. Lexie Lee was startled, but otherwise fine.

Then I headed outside with the screen and properly set it into the window track. I checked the remaining nine windows in that area followed by other windows the next day. Everything was secure, except for the one screen that had fallen out. I think when the new windows and screens were installed, one of them was not locked into place properly. When Lexie Lee pushed against the screen as she traveled along the sill, it gave way. I was just thankful that Lexie Lee tumbled inside the house rather than outside.

Cats also like to climb screens or scratch screens. I have noticed that movement on the outside causes my cats on the inside to bat at the screen. My one-year-olds, Chauncey and Gracie delight in hanging from screens and getting their claws caught. Tears and holes result creating another problem. Screens should be repaired to keep the insects out and to keep the cats from tearing the holes bigger. Sometimes I use small pieces of tape or clear nail polish for quick fixes. You can also pick up a screen repair kit at your local home improvement store.

But sometimes the screen is beyond repair. Earlier this week I was in Ace Hardware getting a picture glass cut. (No, I broke it, not the cats!) While waiting, I noticed the screen display including pet screening that withstands mischievous cats. The cost is $1.00 an inch compared to $0.40 for regular screens. But the pet screen could well be worth the investment for my piece of mind and my cats’ safety. A few more feline climbing adventures in my household will probably send me back to the store, this time for cat proof screening!

What has been your experience with cats, windows and screens?

Happy Purrs!

