2011 Calendar

I am a nut for cat calendars. A couple years ago my mother and I found The Literate Cat in a calendar store in Quincy, Illinois, while Christmas shopping. The calendar is unique in that it features quotations from famous feline fanciers. Each month features an exquisite feline photograph. I recently ordered the 2011 calendar and it arrived this week.
The 2010 calendar is too beautiful to toss out. As I flip through the months, I am reminded of a couple of my favorite literary quotations from last year.

In reverie they emulate the noble mood
Of giant sphinxes stretched in depths of solitude
Who seem to slumber in a never-ending dream;
Within their fertile loins a sparkling magic lies;
Finer than any sand are dusts of gold that gleam.
Vague starpoints, in the mystic iris of their eyes.
~Charles Baudelaire

Cats sleep anywhere, any table, any chair.
Top of piano, window-ledge, in the middle on the edge.
Open drawer, empty shoe, anybody’s lap will do.
Fitted in a cardboard box, in the cupboard with your frocks.
Anywhere! They don’t care!
Cats sleep anywhere.
~Eleanor Farjeon

As the above 2011 Cat Literate cover illustrates, it is sure to be another winner.

What is your favorite kind of calendar?

Warm Purrs!

