One of my favorite holiday traditions is preparing and enjoying family recipes. What a blessing to bake and share my mother’s Christmas cake. I know she will be beside me in spirit as I chop the dates and mix the batter. My mother made a simple powdered sugar icing and sprinkled red and green sugar crystals on the top—just a light dusting to create a festive cake! My favorite part was sprinkling the sugar on top, but usually too much! And I can already hear her saying, “Easy, Linda, just a little red and green!”

Date Oatmeal Cake
1 cup boiling water
1 cup quick rolled oats
2 eggs, beaten
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup shortening, softened
1 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (8 oz. package) dates, chopped
1/2 cup chopped nuts

Pour boiling water over rolled oats and cool to lukewarm. Cream eggs, sugars and shortening. Add 4 dry ingredients to creamed mixture. Add dates and nuts. Add oatmeal mixture. Pour into 9″x13″ greased pan. Bake at 350º for about 30 minutes.

Bountiful Blessings!

