Chauncey...The Tree Climber

Grace and Chauncey got their rabies vaccinations this weekend. So their kitty vet visits are completed. They are gaining weight nicely. Grace weighs five pounds, and Chauncey weighs six pounds, three ounces. The vet and I talked about spaying and neutering, and those surgeries will be scheduled later this fall. Chauncey has sneezed ever since he was around seven weeks old, and we are still treating that condition.

Once again they handled the car ride to the clinic just fine. They have outgrown the soft sided airline carrier that brought them to Florida. So I put
out a larger plastic carrier and let them play in it. When it was time to go to the veterinarian’s office, they crawled right in the box without any drama. The kitties are not afraid of the veterinarian or assistant. I think it helps that they toss treats on the floor! They play with them and make over them. Who wouldn’t love that!!

When the doctor examined Grace, Chauncey was playing on the floor. I had my back to him and was helping with Grace. Chauncey jumped on me and landed waist high. The doctor exclaimed, “He thinks you are a tree!”

I am trying to break Chauncey of this annoying (and painful!) habit, but I am unsuccessful. During the summer when I cared for him back on the farm, he climbed up my ankles. But he was not strong enough to go much further when he was just a few weeks old. That is no longer the case. He reminds me of Cato from Peter Sellers, The Pink Panther.  Cato jumped out and scared Sellers when he least expected it. That’s Chauncey! I can stand at the kitchen sink, and the next thing I know he is hanging on my waist. I can stoop over to scoop out the litter pan, and he lands on my shoulder. Definitely a problem! Since he usually climbs from behind me, I cannot blow air on him or squirt water at him. Chauncey’s antics would make a great video, but I can’t see him coming! Stay tuned for an update on my tree climbing tiger kitty!!

Any suggestions on stopping this behavior??

Bountiful Blessings!

