Some students at the campus today conducted Earth Day activities including a 10-question quiz at lunch. The quiz included such questions as which professor drove the most fuel efficient car or the biggest gas guzzler. Other questions related to the number of pounds of food the cafeteria throws out each week and how many hungry people that amount would feed. The questions were thought provoking. I don’t think I passed since I have not been contacted to pick up my prize!

So as we look for ways to live a more natural, eco-friendly lifestyle, let’s consider our cats as well. What kind of cleaners are we using that might harm our cats? What are we using to scrub the floor where our cats spend time sleeping or eating crumbs? I like the idea of mixing vinegar with water or baking soda with water to make my own safe cleaners. As my vast assortment of store bought cleaning products are depleted, I am not replacing them.

When selecting new toys for your cat, you can even consider eco-friendly items. Just as you can make your own cleaning solutions, you can also recycle items you already have. For example you can use socks or clothing to make cat toys. Nancy Soares, VMD, Macungie Animal Hospital cautions us. “If you are using fabric, make sure it will not fray or shred easily. And be especially careful of strings that could get wrapped around your cat, or anything that is loose that they could choke on.”

I tried the sock idea and tied a couple of knots in a stretched out soft sock. I sprinkled some catnip on my creation and tossed it on the floor. Lexie Lee took right to the homemade toy rolling around with it. Later she was spotted dragging the sock around the house!

What have you done in your household to help your cats live in a more eco-friendly environment?

Bountiful Blessings!

