I loved the news account last week about a 100-year-old woman who checked off the last item on her bucket list one day before passing away. Centenarian stories always interest me. Harriet Ames was a retired teacher from New Hampshire. She was born nine years before my mother who was also a teacher. I felt an immediate connection to Mrs. Ames.

She earned a two-year teaching certificate in 1931 from Keene Normal School. She taught in a one-room school and later was a teaching principal at Memorial School in Pittsfield. During her career she took classes at several universities. Her bucket list achievement was receiving a bachelor’s degree in education. The degree was delivered to her bedside by a representative from Keene State College.

Mrs. Ames inspired me to revisit bucket list. I decided to focus on animals. A few years ago the list included writing a cat book, publishing some cat articles and blogging about cats. I am happy to say I have checked those off. So what does my list look like today?

• Get Lexie Lee a companion cat
• Visit Best Friends Sanctuary
• Volunteer at a local cat shelter
• Get a small dog
• Go on an African safari
• Visit Rita Reynold’s Animals’ Peace Garden
• Foster a special needs cat
• Go on a James Herriot’s walking tour in Yorkshire Dales
• Develop a pet education program for grade school children
• Design a cat brooch line

I have a few decades to go before 100! Yes, I can do these!!

Do you have any animal related goals?

Bountiful Blessings!

