Tatianna escaped two times during her sixteen years with me. The longest and most frightening escape occurred one evening as I left the house through a guest entrance. She was lounging on the bed in the guest room. I gathered up my purse and keys and told Tatianna I would be back in a few minutes. As I opened the door, she came from out of nowhere and bolted out the door. I caught a glimpse of her making a right turn and was gone from my sight before I could utter a word.

A wood fence separated my backyard property from the neighbors. I ran to my yard, hoping to find her there. No luck. I ran over to my neighbor’s side of the fence, but she was not there either. My heart was pounding, and I was breathing hard. I heard barking dogs from the street behind me, and I became even more frightened for her safety. My mind whirled with thoughts of the outdoor peril that could befall Tatianna at any moment. I had to quickly find her before she got hit by a car, attacked by an animal, or catnapped.

I jumped in my car and drove slowly around the block, but I did not see her. It was dusk and hard to see clearly from the street. So, I decided to walk around the block. I walked past my next-door neighbor’s house and rounded the bend, passing the house that sits on the corner between two blocks. Still no Tatianna. As I approached the first house on the street behind my house, I looked up the steps leading to the front door To my amazement, Tatianna lay on the second step from the front-door landing.

I stopped dead in my tracks. My first thought was that she would run if I dashed up the steps. So I slowly ascended the first of the twelve steps that led to her. I talked softly to her. She just lay there looking at me with her eyes that were as big as saucers. Slowly I moved up the second step, then the third, and so on. After what seemed like an eternity, I was close enough to reach down and grab her.

All in all, she was missing less than ten minutes. But for me, it was one of the most frantic and fearful times of my life. We were blessed to be reunited safely. (The above story has been adapted from Tatianna–Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend).

Free book drawing: It’s not too late to register for a Tatianna book drawing. Please visit Tatianna book by January 31.

Bountiful Blessings!

