2010--The Literate Cat Calendar


I am a nut for cat calendars. A year ago my mother and I found The Literate Cat in a calendar store in Quincy, Illinois, while Christmas shopping. The calendar is unique in that it features quotations from famous feline fanciers. Each month showcases an exquisite feline beautifully photographed by Doug Benezra.

The calendar came down last week, but it is too beautiful (and sentimental) to toss out. As I flip through the months, I am reminded of my mother who gave me the calendar as well as my favorite literary quotations from last year.

When I play with my cat, who knows whether she is not amusing herself with me more than I with her?
Michel de Montaigne, Essays

Of all God’s creatures there is only one that cannot be made the slave of the lash. That one is the cat. If man could be crossed with a cat it would improve man, but it would deteriorate the cat.
Mark Twain, Notebook

And close beside me the cat sits purring,
Warming her paws at the cheery gleam;
The flames keep flitting, and clicking, and whirring,
My mind is lapped in a realm of dream
Heinrich Heine, Firelight

The cat’s energy is subdued into an exquisite moderation. If animals could speak…the cat would have the rare grace of never saying a word too much.
Philip Gilbert Hamerton, The Strength Which Lies in Delicacy

I have found a source for the 2010 calendar and can’t wait to get it. As the above cover illustrates, it is sure to be another winner.

What is your favorite cat calendar?

Bountiful Blessings!

