This time last year I shared the Best Friends Animal Society Christmas gifts I gave my family members. Their site features pictures and bios of animals that you can sponsor through monetary donations. A donation helps to provide food, vitamins, medical care and a safe warm place to sleep. I had fun perusing the dogs and cats and matching an animal up to the gift recipients and giving a donation in their names. Well, it is time for an update on how everyone’s donation for a special animal turned out.

The first to find a home right after Christmas last year was my brother-in-law’s dog Trisha. The beautiful chocolate lab went to a home with a lake in Arizona. Sad news followed shortly after that as my mother’s cat Toes passed away from lymphoma. However, Best Friends extended the invitation to adopt another pet since the year had not passed by. My sister’s dog Sophie was adopted this summer. She was so happy to receive the update email from Best Friends and also picked out another pet to sponsor.

My sister-in-law’s cat was quite a star this year as she was selected to be on the Purrty Dozen campaign–Fighting Their Way Home. This campaign included twelve cats that the caregivers at Best Friends most wanted to see adopted over the coming year. Lois had been waiting seven years for a home. Marketing Lois was intense as she was on a wine label and coffee bag. Best Friends illustrator Marc Brown created a portrait of Lois that was featured in their magazine. The story has a happy ending as Lois was the ninth cat to be adopted this past November. Last update I have from Best Friends is that ten of the twelve Purrty Dozen have been adopted. Luna and George are still Fighting Their Way Home.

As for the Mohr family sponsors, three of the six animals are now in their forever homes. I am holding wishful thoughts for my brothers’ animals Homer and Basil. I hope they will be home for the holidays along with Luna and George from the Purrty Dozen. If you would like additional information, visit Best Friends.

Bountiful Blessings!

