I promised a cat book for the 2009 Holiday Reading Challenge. How about The Cat Who Came for Christmas? I started a collection of Christmas books many years ago and enjoy adding selections from garage sales and thrift stores. The collection includes short stories, novels, cookbooks and decorating books.

Now what to choose? Every Christmas my mother gave my sister the latest Richard Paul Evans book, so I got a sneak preview. The titles are enchanting–The Looking Glass, The Locket, The Christmas Box, The Letter, Timepiece and The Carousel. Thomas Kinkade’s The Christmas Angel is a Cape Light novel. His books remind me of Jan Karon and the Mitford series. Or how about Deck the Halls or Silent Night by Mary Higgins Clark?

I must also consider Sandra Brown’s book, Tidings of Great Joy and Johanna Lindsey’s Home for the Holidays. I have a couple of books that are short stories including Seven Stories of Christmas Love by Leo Buscaglia and This Year It Will Be Different by Maeve Binchy.

I have too many Christmas cookbooks to count. I consider cookbooks as novels and just love to read them. A variation is Joanne Flukes’ Sugar Cookie Murder. I found several of her books at a library book sale and gave a different one to my mother for years. My mother loved reading and loved reading recipes just as much.

My five books for the 2009 Holiday Reading Challenge are:

1.  The Cat Who Came for Christmas by Cleveland Amory (Do I really need a reason? A book with a cat as the leading role—what more can I say!)

2.  The Christmas Box by Richard Paul Evans (It’s a little book that I can read in one sitting. Remember it’s the holidays!)

3. Seven Stories of Christmas Love by Leo Buscaglia (Short stories are a nice change of pace and it has beautiful color illustrations.)

4.  Gooseberry Patch Old Fashioned Country Christmas Cookbook (Besides all the great recipes, I like the childhood memories sprinkled in between.)

5.  Sugar Cookie Murder by Joanne Fluke (I inherited my mother’s collection and in honor of her, I simply have to read this. Plus it’s a mystery with over 50 recipes including you guessed it! Sugar Cookies!!)

In between the holiday festivities, what are you planning to read? See blog post on November 25 for details about challenge.

Bountiful Blessings!

