One of my favorite traditions of the Christmas holiday season is enjoying family recipes. When my mother celebrated her 90th birthday this past July, my sister and I assembled a cookbook of her recipes. The following Date Oatmeal Cake included in the collection is my mother’s traditional Christmas cake. She frosts it with powdered sugar icing and sprinkles on red and green sugar crystals. The recipe was passed down from her mother, Gladys Barr. Christmas, New Year’s Day or any other time of the year, I hope you enjoy.

Date Oatmeal Cake

1 cup boiling water

1 cup quick rolled oats

2 eggs, beaten

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup shortening, softened

1 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup (8 oz. package) dates, chopped

1/2 cup chopped nuts

Pour boiling water over rolled oats and cool to lukewarm. Cream eggs, sugars and shortening. Add 4 dry ingredients to creamed mixture. Add dates and nuts. Add oatmeal mixture. Pour into 9″x13″ greased pan. Bake at 350º for about 30 minutes.

Bountiful Blessings!

