Recently Catherine Hamm of the Los Angeles Times received a letter from a reader who cancelled plane travel due to her 27-year cat’s kidney failure. This prompted the journalist to ask the question: Where’s the line between being responsible and pet-obsessed?

In her On The Spot column on November 5, experts and readers weighed in on what to do when a furry friend falls ill in the midst of travel plans. Below is my published response:

“Being with Tatianna, my 16-year-old Siamese, in the last minutes of her extraordinary life was not unlike how we had shared thousands of ordinary days. I was always there for her, and she was always there for me, loving me unconditionally. As Thomas Wolfe said, “I am a part of all that I have touched and that has touched me.”

The last commandment of “A Pet’s Ten Commandments” is this: On the ultimate difficult journey, go with me, please. Never say you can’t bear to watch. Don’t make me face this alone. Everything is easier for me if you are there, because I love you so.”

— Linda A. Mohr, Author, “Tatianna: Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend”

For the full listing of responses visit: http://travel.latimes.com/articles/la-trw-petlovers9-2008nov09

Have you ever cancelled a vacation due to your pet’s illness? Or would you do so if ever confronted with that situation?

Bountiful Blessings!

